Thursday, November 30, 2017

What is more important?

Mishti's school has 4 sports groups (houses) - 1. Agni (Red T-shirt),  2. Jal (Blue T-shirt) , 3. Prithvi (Green T-shirt) and 4. Vayu (Yellow T-shirt)

Mishti belongs to the Vayu house and like any other kid, believes that her house is the most powerful and important one.

This morning while going to school she saw another girl in yellow T-shirt and giggled, "Mamma see she is also in Vayu😃 "

And then started the series of endless questions... 😣

Mishti - Mamma...what do you think is more important...Jal (water) or Vayu (air)??

Me - (Rushing towards the bus) Both are important 🙄!

Mishti - But teacher told that it is ok if you don't get water for manyyyyy days then you will die but if you don't get air for sometime also no..then you will die fast. So it means air is more important no 🤔???

Me - Hmmmm... (Taking more faster steps) ok ok Vayu is more important 😖.

Mishti - And Mamma what is more important Jal (water) or Prithvi (earth) ???

Me - (The patent answer of mine) Both are important😑 !

Mishti - But if Earth will not be there then what is the use of water🤔 ?

Me - Haan ....right  🙆 !!

Mishti - So earth is more important no ... 🤔

Me - ( Now almost reached the bus stop so relaxed ) But if water is not there then earth will get destroyed na.. 😊

Mishti - Why??...earth can still be there...🤷‍♀

Me - But without water people won't be there on Earth... So it will be destroyed .. Isn't it 👩‍🏫?

Mishti - So what people will not be there??....God will be there no... God can take care of the Earth and he can stay without water also na... 👼

Me - Right..... You are right Mishti 😘 !!

Friday, November 10, 2017

Happily ever after

11 Nov 2017

Me - Mishti it's Dadubhai Didabhai's anniversary...chalo let's wish them

Mishti - Mamma when is your anniversary? It's gone...or is it going to come?

Me - It's done...it was in july na... (And then with y ever exciting tone)... Mamma Papa got married on 18th July 2008 and lived happily ever after...

Mishti - And when was I born...

Me - Mishti was born on 27th October 2010 and we lived happily ever after..

Mishti - Not just happily....very very happily ever after :D

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Just the hero we want!

While searching for story ideas... I was reading a title of a story.... 'Just the hero we want!'

Me -
Just the hero we want!

Mishti (at once) - Papa :D

Thursday, September 28, 2017

एकला चोलो रे....

दुर्गा अष्टमी की संध्या थी... मेरे अंदर का बंगालीपन अचानक जाग उठा और मैं गाने लगी...

"जोदी तोर डाक शुने केयू ना आशे तोबे एकला चोलो रे...."
एक दो लाइने गाने के बाद मिष्टी भी साथ हो ली और हम दोनों संग संग गाने लगे...


जोदी केयू कोथा ना कोये....ओरे ओरे ओ ओभागा केयू कोथा ना कोये....जोदी शोबाई थाके मूक फिराये शोबाई कोरे भोये..."

गाना खत्म होते ही मिष्टी के चेहरे पर एक हल्की सी मुस्कान थी...
मैने उसे बताया कि ये रबिन्द्रनाथ टेगोर का लिखा हुआ गाना है।

मिष्टी ने तुरंत पूछा - "क्या मतलब है इसका?"

मैंने बताया - " इसका मतलब है कि अगर तुम्हारे बुलाने पे कोई न आये तो तुम अकेले चलो।"

मिष्टी - "ऐसा क्यों कहा रबिन्द्रनाथ टेगोर ने?

मैंने थोड़ा इतिहास समझाया और कहा कि ये आज़ादी की लड़ाई के दौरान लिखा हुआ गाना है। शायद वो कहना चाहते थे कि इस लड़ाई में कोई अगर तुम्हारा साथ न भी दे तो तुम अकेले ये लड़ाई लड़ो।

मिष्टी - पर वो तो राइटर थे...लड़ाई तो नही करते थे।

मैं - हाँ पर हो सकता है, ये उन्होंने आज़ादी की लड़ाई लड़ने वालों को सोच कर लिखा हो।

मिष्टी - (बिल्कुल तपाक से) मम्मा ये भी तो हो सकता है कि वो अकेले ही लिखते थे ना...

मैं - हाँ...

मिष्टी - तो उन्होंने किसीको लिखने के लिए बुलाया हो और वो नही आये तो वो अकेले ही लिखते रहे।

मैं - हाँ बेटू..ऐसा तो हमने कभी सोचा ही नही...ऐसा हो सकता है।

मुझे अपनी बात मानते देख मिष्टी खुश हो गयी और फिर से अपने खेल में मस्त हो गयी।

सच है! शायद रबिन्द्रनाथ ने इस बात की कभी परवाह नही की, कि कोई उनकी तरह लिख रहा है या नही...उन्हें जो कहना था...जो लिखना था ...वो अकेले ही लिखते चले गए... शायद तभी वो राबिंद्रनाथ बन पाए!
लेखक या कवि यदि इस भय से लिखने लगे कि उनके साथ कोई है या नही तो शायद फिर कभी कोई भी लेखक या कवि रबिन्द्रनाथ नही बन पाएगा!

Saturday, July 29, 2017

Maa Kaali

Mishti ( while watching the episode where Maa Kaali steps on Mahadev ) - Mamma why did Maa Kaali take out her tongue?

Me - Because you should not step on your elders no...

Mishti - But they are equals no...they are noth Gods...

Me - Hmm.. ya... We should not step on someone we love na... Mahadev was her husband and she loved him...so...

Mishti - Ok....

Saturday, July 8, 2017

Rongeela

Me - (singing) Rongeela Rongeela Rongeela re.... Aamare chadiya bondhu koi gela re....

Mishti - Cry-Wet Cry-wet Cry-wet re....

Me - What???

Mishti - Ron-geela = cry-wet. Ro means cry and geela means wet na....so Cry-wet Cry-wet Cry-wet re....

Me - wah ehat a pun :D

Thursday, June 29, 2017

No Smoking

Disclaimer before a movie - Smoking is injurious to health

Mishti - Mamma why do they make such things from which you can smoke if they know it is injurious to health?

Me - Hmmm

Monday, June 12, 2017

Cobra Mafia

While watching National Geographic Channel

On screen - Reptile Kings Cobra Mafia

Mishti (reading and talking to herself)  - Co...b...ra ..... Ma...fi....a
I think Mafia is there surname and they can keep any name in place of cobra...

Me - hmmmm

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Zoo....

Again as always....out of the blue...

Mishti - Mamma sing that song na...where you wish to build a zoo...

Me - wish to build a zoo? Which song?

Mishti - Aray that where you sing..." Zoo...zoo...zoo..zoo"

Here's the song -

https://youtu.be/bfk6AzvyX4k

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

स्विमिंग पूल!

कई बार बच्चो को कुछ सिखाते सिखाते , हम भी ज़िन्दगी के कई पाठ पढ़ लेते है...आज भी कुछ ऐसा ही हुआ।
मैं मिष्टी को आज स्विमिंग कराने ले गयी। पिछले साल भी जाते थे। तब मिष्टी के पैर पूल के फ्लोर तक नही पहुंचते थे, इसलिए उसे ट्यूब के सहारे ही मेरे साथ बड़े पूल में रहना पड़ता। इस साल उसके पैर फ्लोर तक पहुंचते है या नही ये देखे बिना ही मैन उसे ट्यूब का सहारा लेने दिया। आज बहुत कोशिशों के बाद वो मानी कि बिना ट्यूब के उतरेगी। करीब 10 मिनट तक समझाने के बाद उसने अपने पांव फ्लोर पर रखे और बहुत डरते डरते मुझे छोड़ा।
अब बारी आई उसे पेट के बल लेटा कर स्विमिंग सिखाने की। पर फिर वही डर...बहुत समझाने पर वो सीधे तो हो गयी पर मेरा हाथ छोड़ने को तैयार ही नही हुई। मैं उसे लाख कहती रही कि "बेटे मैने तुझे नीचे से पकड़ रखा है ...तू डूबेगी नही..हाथ नही छोड़ेगी तो स्विमिंग कैसे सीखेगी...."
पर मिष्टी कहा मानती...न मिष्टी ने मुझे छोड़ा न स्विमिंग सीखी।
ज़िन्दगी भी कुछ ऐसी ही है...हम तैर सकते है....तैर कर बहुत कुछ पार कर सकते है पर बस हाथ छुड़ाना नही चाहते।

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Locker

Looking at the locker of our new wardrobe and opening it several times, Mishti asked-

Mishti - What is this Mamma?
Me - A locker
Mishti - Can I keep my clothes here?
Me - No it is for precious things?
Mishti - Like me?
Me - While busy in arranging clothes..."yes"
Mishti - Then you will keep me here?
Me - Laughing... No you are the living most precious thing. This is for a nonliving precious thing.

Next two days Mishti tried keeping everything she felt was precious in the locker and I rejected each one of them to be precious..

2 days later...
Mishti - Mamma you said books are precious
Me - yes
Mishti - ( with a spark in her eyes as if she got the answer to a great mystery) Then let's keep books in the locker.

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Knowing your Rights

Mishti is playing with her friends in the play area, when a lady on a scooter crosses them.

Her friend Rai immediately steps up and calls the scooter rider, she politely stops her and says that scooters are not allowed inside the inner vicinity of the society.

She also shows her the way towards the exit. All the children gather around Rai to show their support. I tell the lady standing at my balcony that the kids are right. The lady says 'sorry' and leaves from the right way.

I check with the guard immediately and he says that he tried to stop her but she ignored the guard and drove faster towards the play area.

Our country is definitely going to do much better with this future generation of kids who know their rights :)

Friday, February 17, 2017

Hindi Class

Mishti - Mamma you whay we say when Ma'am comes?

Me - What?

Mishti - Goooodddd Morniiiinnnggg Ma'am!!

Me - Wowww!

Mishti - But we don't say Good morning Ma'am in the Hindi class..

Me - Then what do you say??

Mishti -  We say.. " Suprabhat Adhyapika ji"

Though we know our education system needs to adapt many changes and the rising pressure bother us most of the time, these little improvisions compared to our time makes me hopeful :)

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Ve ki Karan...

Me -  (singing on top pitch)
Ranjhan de yaar Bulleya
Sun le pukaar Bulleya.... 

Ve ki karan ve ki karan....

Mishti - Why does he say "What I did...what I did"?

Me - Where

Mishti - Aray in that song that you were singing... Bulleya Bulleya...

Me - Where does he say that in the song?

Mishti - Aray he says na.. "Ve ki karan...Ve ki karan"... What I did... What I did...

Me - Ohh... That's " What do I do... What do I do" 😂😂😂

And we both burst into laughter 😄😄

Monday, January 30, 2017

Books!

Books

Books have knowledge.
Books have fun.
Books teaches us and...
Do you know?
Books ar everything!

Saturday, January 21, 2017

मंटो

सर्दी की दोपहर में धुप सेंकने जाने से पहले मिष्टी और उसकी सहेली वेदिका ने बिलकुल पिकनिक की सी तैयारी कर ली। वेदिका ड्राइंग का सारा सामान ले आयी। मिष्टी ने अपना योगा मैट उठाया, कुछ गेम्स लिए  और मुझे हिदायत दी गयी कि मैं पानी और कुछ खाने का सामान साथ ले आऊं।
ऐसे माहौल में मेरा भी मन कर गया धुप सेंकते सेंकते किताब पढ़ने का सो मैंने वाशिंग मशीन से कपडे निकालते निकालते मिष्टी से कहा ...

मैं - मिष्टी मेरी वो बुक भी ले लेना बेटे...

मिष्टी - कौनसी वाली?

मैं - वो जो बेड के साइड में रखी है..

मिष्टी - कैसी दिखती है???

क्योंकि अब मिष्टी को हिंदी भी पढ़नी आती है सो मैंने कहा -

मैं - उसपे "रोज़ एक कहानी" लिखी होगी।

मिष्टी - ओह्ह.... मंटो की बुक कहो न....

मैं - (गर्व से गदगद होते हुए ) हाँ मंटो :)

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Kulfi

12th Jan 2017
Last night when we were going to sleep.

Adi - Shall I switch on the fan?

Me - Noooooo

Mishti - Yesssss

Majority wins and Adi switches on the fan 😨

Me - Ohh hoo... Aise to subah tak meri kulfi jam jayegi 😳😳😳

Mishti - (immediately) To koi baat nahi.. we will have you in the morning then 😎😎😂😂😂